CIS Network University

In 2008, the Russian side, with the support of the Interstate Fund for Humanitarian Cooperation of the CIS Member States (IFHC), in order to further develop humanitarian cooperation of the CIS member states, initiated the project “Creation of the CIS Network University.”

The CIS Network University is an equal cooperation of higher educational institutions of the Commonwealth in the field of higher education, carried out in the format of a Consortium of educational organizations.

The main goal of creating the Consortium is to establish the CIS SU as a system of inter-university cooperation aimed at solving the following tasks:

  • development of a unified (common) educational space of universities of the member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States through the implementation of joint educational programs, the organization of “inclusive learning”, new forms of interuniversity cooperation;
  • creation of mechanisms for the development of academic mobility of students and teachers within the Commonwealth of Independent States;
  • promoting intercultural dialogue among students, preservation, development and mutual enrichment of culture, languages, historical and national traditions of the peoples of the member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

The Consortium includes 38 leading universities from 9 CIS member states: the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan and Ukraine.